Need all grain recipe please!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vissere

Reaction score
Hello,

I am very new to home brewing, I have made 4 batches so far, two partial mash and two all grain. I have these leftover ingredients and I wanted to see if there is a possible combination with all or some of the list below where I can make another batch. I have a 5 gallon and 6.5 carboy.

8lb 2 row
.5 lb chocolate malt
.75 lb Black Patent
.5 lb muntons crystal lovibond 49-64
1 oz perle
1 oz perle
1 oz fuggle

american ale yeast us-05
american ale yeast us-4

Thanks!

Looks like a porter to me, I would use 1 oz of hops (probably fuggle) and freeze the rest. Same with the yeast, use 04 and refrigerate 05

I plugged this into BeerSmith.

I used the Brown Porter classification which this beer fits into:
OG of 1.049
36 SRM (upper limit of 30 for brown porter / upper limit of 35 for a Robust porter)
5.0% abv
29.3 IBU

I used only an ounce of Perle (assuming 8.0% AAU) at 60min and 1oz of Fuggles (4.5%) at flameout

In my opinion first of all, the Crystal is pointless cuz of all the darker malts and you only gain 0.2%abv and lose a little over 1 SRM in color. But it will not hurt to use it.

I also wanted to add that I used some basic assumptions with BeerSmith that could change the recipe slightly although it would be very slight if at all.

Hop AAU as stated in the above recipe, were assuming that Perle is 8.0% and Fuggles 4.5%

I assumed US 2 row base malt
choc malt at 350SRM
Black patent 500SRM
Crystal 60L

All in all, I think that robust porter is the way to go.
Cheers

. . .
In my opinion first of all, the Crystal is pointless cuz of all the darker malts and you only gain 0.2%abv and lose a little over 1 SRM in color. But it will not hurt to use it.