First GF brew

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gavo

Reaction score
So I'm working on planning my first GF brew. This one will be for my girlfriend who has celiac but has been kind enough to let me start my home brewing at her place. I'm planning on using Lcasanova's revised Double Chocolate Oatmill Stout recipe as I think we will both be able to enjoy this one. I'm still very new to home brewing (only one other non GF brew under my belt) so I of course have a few questions. The recipe is below:

Grains:
2 lb Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Rolled Oats, roasted (1 SRM)
3 lbs Brown Rice Syrup (60 min)
3 lbs Sorghum Syrup (60 min)
1 lb Dark Candi Sugar (60 min)
1 lb Molasses (60 min)
.4 oz Chinook, pellet 11.4% (60 min)
.25 oz Chinook, pellet 11.4% (30 min)
.25 oz Fuggles, pellet 4.8% (15 min)
1 tsp Irish Moss (10 min)
1 tsp Yeast Nutrient (10 min)
6 oz Fat Free Cocoa Powder (10 min)
8 oz Maltodextrin (5 min)
S-04 SafAle Yeast

1 lb Dark Candi Sugar (after fermentation has started)
3 Vanilla Beans, split, chopped (Secondary, 7 days)

I have already toasted the oats and I assume that I will steep those? I'm also curious about adding the Dark Candi Sugar after the fermentation has started. I assume I can just sterilize the package add the Candi Sugar? Has anyone else tried this recipe and had any luck?

So I'm working on planning my first GF brew. This one will be for my girlfriend who has celiac but has been kind enough to let me start my home brewing at her place. I'm planning on using Lcasanova's revised Double Chocolate Oatmill Stout recipe as I think we will both be able to enjoy this one. I'm still very new to home brewing (only one other non GF brew under my belt) so I of course have a few questions. The recipe is below:

Grains: