Does this look like a good recipe to you guys?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Greekdude

Reaction score
I’m new to everything. I went and found a strawberry wine recipe and I wanted to get your opinions on what you think of it...ingredient proportion-wise.
AE869DE0-54D0-42AD-847A-C36E9198AACD.png

If I wanted to up the amount of strawberries to get a more strawberry flavor would that be ok? How much more strawberries could I add without knocking anything out of whack?

Also, if it comes out to dry, I can back sweeten, right? I mean I have no idea when or how to do that so if someone can give me pointers or point me in the right direction, I’d be very grateful.

With strawberry, I’ve made it with almost all strawberries with barely any water added.

Also switch you sodium bisulfite for potassium metabisulfite. Sodium will leave a flavor you wont want compared to potassium.
Backsweeten after you stabilze (finish fermenting, add potassium sorbate and potassium metabisufite) the wine, just before you bottle.

So I used that recipe. It instructs to squash the berries, empty into fermentation vessel, add sulfate, tannin, pectilase, and acid blend then leave it for 24 hours before adding yeast and fermenting. This is what it looks like. It’s a bit pale and I’m wondering if it will pick up that beautiful pink color.
2D3EA987-4A3E-42EF-8CCC-4AE1637063A3.jpeg

Also switch you sodium bisulfite for potassium metabisulfite. Sodium will leave a flavor you wont want compared to potassium.
Backsweeten after you stabilze (finish fermenting, add potassium sorbate and potassium metabisufite) the wine, just before you bottle.