Starting Out Questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Omnidons-Brewing

Reaction score
Ok everyone, so I am just starting out. I found an amazing deal from a local home brew group, for 75$ I got a 8-gallon Mash Tun (igloo), a 8-gallon aluminum boil pot (with spigot), a 5.5 gallon glass carboy, a banjo burner (modified for natural gas instead of propane), a wort chiller, a mash paddle, and a small clear plastic hose for transfer from boil kettle to carboy.

So, my first question --- what are all the essentials I need to go from here? I know this wasn't going to be enough to brew instantly (my first decision was to go with that Premium Fermonster deal from MoreBeer for ....230$ or so I think it was?, but this offer was too good to pass up), so I'm looking to see what all I need left.

I know I need a thermometer, a plug with an airlock for the carboy, and the stuff to convert the burner back to propane, as well as stuff to do bottling. (No fridge setup or keggerator to do kegs... yet, so bottling is the starting plan).

What else do I need?

Also.... that brings me to my next set of questions......

How do I go about converting the banjo burner back from all-natural-gas to propane?

Thanks so much everyone!

The burner part is easy. It's just the orifice, the little screw in part on the front that controls gas flow.

Looks like you have a mash tun and boil kettle, so you are pretty much set for starting AG or extract through the boil process. You'll need something to ferment in though. The 5.5 gallon carboy would work for about 4 gallons, but you'll need something larger to ferment a standard 5 gallon batch.