Yeast crisis

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The_Huisvrouw

Reaction score
OK, I won't bore you with all the tales of what went wrong as I brewed today, but I could just cry about the end of the story:

Was trying to make a Saison. Had some trouble locating Wyeast 3724 and then when I did find and order it, it had to come clear across country. It was in transit for 4 days on about the hottest week of the summer. And I've never used a smackpack before.

Anyhow, I'll be danged if I didn't truly believe that the little nutrient pack had arrived broken. The package was swollen an inch or two (the husband says I exaggerate and it was one at best) and I couldn't feel a little bladder in there. So I had it out on the counter all afternoon, hoping for the best, as I prepared the wort.

And then, at the moment of truth, I opened up the yeast package and found the bladder intact. What could I do? With the wort all cooled and in the fermenter, I had no time for making a starter. I panicked, and threw it all in there and closed down the lid.

The back of the package says to break the nutrient pouch and incubate it for a couple of hours "or immediately direct pitch into wort." That last part would be reassuring, except that all of you are all about starters and prudence.

I killed it, didn't I? :(

It should be fine. But if you haven't done so yet, aerate the heck out of it. Your yeast really need lots of oxygen if you underpitched. You can aerate up to about 14 hours into the ferment (probably a few hours longer for you since you didn't pitch a lot of yeast).

It's alive!! :fro: