whats in your pantry?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sashurlow

Reaction score
I am new to all grain. I realize that I can buy ingredients per batch, but am curious about buying in bulk. I also realize that my brewing styles will affect what I buy in bulk but am curious how people handle buying in bulk. What do you buy in bulk and what do you buy per batch? I do have a local home brew store, but its about 45 minutes away and the cost of shipping is ridiculous, so having a small pantry very well might make sense for me.
Thanks,
Scott

I try to buy my base malt (pale malt or 2-row, depending on how it is labeled) in big bags. Then I look at the kinds of beer I really like and want lots of and buy quantities of that. For my beers i find that they often call for C-20 or C-60 so I buy that in 10 lb bags. Roasted barley for my stouts is purchased in much smaller quantities since I use much less of that. Other specialty grains are available in 1 lb bags so I buy them on an as-needed basis and often choose 2 different beers that take them to make back-to-back to use them in a reasonable time. Some malts are used little so I have small amounts in ziplock bags with labels. i find that these keep very well and some that I have may be over 2 years old. When I next want to use them I need to taste for staling before I start brewing.

I buy my base malts by the sack from my LHBS. They are cheaper that I can find online when you figure in shipping. I take a recipe I want to do and buy at least twice the amount of specialty malts needed and store the rest in sealed containers. I then have the fixings on hand for another recipe.

20150811_161218_zpsw2pd1n8u.jpg

20150811_161232_zpskrwdb1jz.jpg