What does young wine taste like?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TrubDude

Reaction score
Hi,

I've been brewing beer for 1 year and wine for 6 months. I'm just curious how you would describe a young wine taste? Im bad and haven't aged mine for too long because I like the taste too much.

I would describe it as an alcohol juice, doesn't quite taste like wine. What are your tips for aging, so you don't touch it? And does aging always improve taste?

To me, young wine tastes raw. Not quite sure how else to describe it, but you know it when you taste it - the alcohol is a bit too obvious, the acid is too sharp; it doesn't taste bad, just not quite right.

For aging, you need to start a lot the first few years! Like twice as much as you want to have available to drink and share over the next year. This is my third winemaking summer - we drank most of the first year's wine too soon, but quite a few from last year are stiil aging, so more of this year's should be able to age properly.

Also, if you have enough carboys you can make quicker things like skeeter pee or basic kit wines so you have something to drink while you wait, if you don't want to buy your booze any more. It got really expensive here in Canada.

My "young wine" tastes like fermentation smells, if that makes sense. It has more of a bite than I like probably due to the alcohol and/or tartness. Aging definitely helps. I like to age two years or more. I have one bottle from 2015 that I haven't opened yet, on purpose. May wait another year and see how it mellows in the 4th year.

"green" as I describe it.