Wee Heavy recipe thoughts

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Which peat smoked malt amount?

• Total voters

Golddiggie

Reaction score
I'm looking at brewing a wee heavy in about a month (it's after two other recipes get brewed). Right now I'm trying to decide how much of the peated malt I want to add. I've never used it in a recipe before. I have used cherry wood smoked malt and like what it gives that recipe.

My current recipe has 2% of the grist as the peated malt (comes out to 1/2#). I'm thinking of using the entire pound that I bought in the recipe though. Which puts it to 4% of the grist. Does anyone see a major issue with that? The current recipe is:
Crisp Maris Otter (No 19): 85.7%
Simpson double roast crystal: 8.2%
Pale chocolate: 4.1%
Peat smoked malt: 2%

Changing the peat smoked amount would change the recipe to:
Crisp Maris Otter: 84%
Simpson double roast crystal: 8%
Pale chocolate: 4%
Peat smoked malt: 4%

I'll be hopping with EKG to about 22IBU in the recipe (unless I change that). ABV estimate is in the low 9% range (9.1-9.3% depending on which option I take).

Thoughts??
How heavy will the peat smoked malt be by changing the percentage from 2% to 4%? As I mentioned, I've not used that malt before, so I'm looking for thoughts from people who HAVE.

Technically speaking, the "official" description of a Wee Heavy says peat smoked malt is inappropriate:
20210823_095008.jpg

And personally, I don't care for smoked beers myself. But it's your beer so use as much as you like. With that said, a little goes a long way so I'd start at 2% for this batch and if that isn't enough for you, up the percentage next time.

I know it's not in the 'official description' but that only goes so far. Since the description of peat smoke malt is