Ways To Lower S-04 Acidity?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I wonder if the tart thing is only noticeable in certain beer styles. I've been using S04 for my imperial stout for nearly two decades now and have never thought of "tart" as a character in it...

Cheers!

I've seen a lot of talk about how clean (the current incarnation of) s-04 is, but I tasted one of my recent beers along with an old bottle of a previous version of the same ale fermented with A-09 and found them surprisingly similar, although noticeably different.

The A-09 was fruitier overall, sweeter, with a definite orange flavor not found in the s-04 ale. But the two I just did with s-04 at 71F (closer to 22C) were quite estery with a pleasant English character. It's giving me what I want for what I am brewing, which is great since it's cheap and easy to work with (relatively fast, fairly attenuative, repeatable, flocculant, can survive shipping in the sunny South, etc). I do plan to try fermenting one cooler just to see what the yeast can do though.

Does anyone actually measure the final beer pH when referring to the “twang”. English yeast can be notorious for dropping pH significantly. Finished beer pH in the low 4s can definitely taste a bit acidic or twangy.

I know making a starter with dry yeast is technically wrong but from my experience with this yeast this can actually help prevent this yeast in particular from driving pH way down during fermentation and eliminating the “twang”.

Otherwise make sure the pH of your knock out wort is a bit higher, this can help final beer pH finish a touch higher.

And if you don’t have a pH meter, you should. It’s the best investment you’ll ever make. Brewing beer without a pH meter is like driving a car without a speedometer.