Very Low OG

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigFishBrewing

Reaction score
I have been brewing with my buddy for about 1 1/2 years now. Our beers are always great and we almost always hit the og/fg. We brew 10 gallons and split into two kegs.

The 3 times that I have brewed myself (5 gallons) I am never even close to the og/fg. For example, today I brewed Sip of Sunshine where the og should have been 1.076 - mine was 1.054.

We do continuous (fly) sparging and lauter at 1 litre per minute and that takes about one hour to reach our boil amount.

When I brew myself at that rate it takes about 30 minutes. Is this the problem? Should I double the amount of time it takes to lauter?

It is the only thing that is different in the process between the 10 gallon batches and the 5 gallon batch.

Please help. My buddy is out of town and I can't stand the thought of him thinking that he is the difference!

Last edited:
without more info, couldn't help you. but here's a joke for ya!

edit: and info....how much water do you use per pound of grain? strike water temp? what kinda mash tun do you use? etc....(not sure if i missed in another of your posts)

How were you designing your recipe when you brewed with your friend? You need to use a brewing efficiency calculator to make sure you're hitting your numbers. You need to know what efficiency you're getting with your process. I use this:

https://www.brewersfriend.com/brewhouse-efficiency/

Efficiency issues can almost always be traced back to grain crush. What's different about the crush of the grain? Did he do it last time and now you're doing it?