Unusual higher mash PH for the last couple of batches, why?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Miles_1111

Reaction score
I have been brewing for several years and do water chemistry for all my BIAB batches. Normally I can get the mash PH close enough to my target, say normally my target is 5.3, then I can get somewhere between 5.25 or 5.35, not too far out. However, for my last 3 batches (a pale ale, a Hazy IPA and a saison) I got mash PH much higher than my target PH. These 3 batches are 5.43, 5,49 and 5.59 individually, where are much higher than my target.

I did not do anything different from before. I use Brunwater to do the water chemistry calculation. I got the sample after 20mins of mashing and cool it down to about 20 C(68F) then test the results. I am thinking it could be the following reasons:

1. The gypsum and CaCl I used were bought 3 years ago, the description say they are valid for up to 2 years. Maybe now they have already lost the ability?
2. If not the above reason, maybe I need to calibrate my PH meter.

Any suggestion what the reason could be? Thanks.

Definitely calibrate your pH meter. That should actually be done very often!
Ideally everytime you use it.

If it isn't the pH meter, then maybe the composition of your water changed?
I will calibrate the PH meter for sure, although I haven't done it since I bought it 2 years ago.

I use 5 gallons of purified RO water all the time, so the water source is consistent.

I use 5 gallons of purified RO water all the time, so the water source is consistent
Varying water source would have been my first guess. I think @Zambezi Special nailed it. I'd bet anything your pH meter is off. If you got two years of readings out of it then count yourself pretty lucky :)

*edit*