temp control with water bath and a towel

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LesFCHB

Reaction score
I'm not good with 'Search' so I'll ask here. What is the technique used to keep wort cool during fermentation on hot days without refrigeration? On hot days in PA the basement hangs around 73-74 degrees. (winter is ideal in the mid 60's) I have a large plastic bucket just purchased from Lowes and set my fermentation bucket in it with tap water. Do you wrap the bucket with a towel and leave it rest in the water to wick water with a fan blowing on it? Any other better techniques?

I use frozen water bottles that I rotate everyday with a similar setup as yours. Drape a towel over the fermenter and call it good.

Any other better techniques?
That's way too old school from when homebrewing was about resourcefulness and innovation. Now that the hipsters are here, it's how much money you can spend. You're going to have to buy a temperature controlled fermentation chamber. :drunk:

That's way too old school from when homebrewing was about resourcefulness and innovation. Now that the hipsters are here, it's how much money you can spend. You're going to have to buy a temperature controlled fermentation chamber. :drunk:
Yeah I'll TELL my wife I'm getting a temp control chamber today. No hipster here, I'm an oldster.
Anyone use those Brew Jacket Immersions? They're only $300.

That's a pretty warm temp in your basement. The beer could be pushing 80 degrees with those ambient temps. Maybe try something like the SOF chiller or at least using that same insulation board to make a box you can rotate ice bottles into. Otherwise, use 3711 since it's an easy yeast and brew saisons in the summer.