Stuck Fermentation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Waldo's Beer

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing, have done a few batches so far with a 35L Brewzilla, have carboys, fermzilla setup. No solid temp control, ambient 17-19.

Problem with Fermentation.

Recipe: DavidH. Kolsh. On BrewFather app.

Brew day was good, recalibrated hops, and came in OG at 1.041, added recipe Irish moss, yeast nutrient, a bit of a whirlpool. False bottom came up... transfer to fermzilla, sprinkled yeast on top. Closed and aloud 10psi. It did ferment within 2days and looked good, however it stalled out at 1.018 after 1 week. Brewfather class this at 55% anutation, and 3%abv. This was two weeks ago, since I have tried shaking it, heating it, losing pressure, taking collected off and reintroducing same yeast but hydrated. Still 1.018. Thoughts?

I have been thoroughly enjoying this hobby.
Thanks everyone.

The referenced recipe specifies K-97 (dry yeast) and mashes at 149F.

Anyway, refractometer readings aren't reliable once alcohol is present. Use a calculator to correct the Brix reading to SG. This is a common error among new (and even not so new) brewers.

The referenced recipe specifies K-97 (dry yeast) and mashes at 149F.

Anyway, refractometer readings aren't reliable once alcohol is present. Use a calculator to correct the Brix reading to SG. This is a common error among new (and even not so new) brewers.
I rechecked brix with calculator you sent and I got 1.007. Which concludes that I also can't get a good enough read on the hydrometer inside the zilla.

Thank you.

As I have un necessarily pitched another packet of yeast, how will this effect beer?

Hi guys. I'm having a similar problem. I brewed an imperial stout.
O.G. 1.076.