Share us your DUMBEST brewing experience...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MichaelBD

Siamese Brewer
Reaction score
Just like the title says... I'll start by telling you mine. It's probably the dumbest mistake, felt like shooting myself in the head yesterday!!

Well I brewed a 5 gallon batch of Hefeweizen last two weeks and got an UNSUALLY low OG. Was aiming for 1.052, but I got 1.025. I'm pretty new to all grain brewing and was frustrated since I had better results on my previous non-wheat brews. I re-checked everything for my 2nd batch yesterday, recalibrated my refractometer, used a hydrometer to test against the refractometer, reset my mill gap, milled the wheat twice, tried batch instead of fly sparging, etc. and the OG still turned out at 1.025.... Well after alot of swearing, cursing, cigarettes, alcohol, and head scratching. I decided to go do some research and reading. Still no luck since the answers on most forum posts were about efficiency, mill gaps, sparging techniques, etc which I have corrected already.... And then after much reading I came across the MALTING process... yes that's right.... MALTING!!! The wheat grains I got were not MALTED!! They were just grains freshly harvested from some wheat farm waiting to be malted....
I feel like a royal idiot and had a good laugh about this with a friend. I hope no one makes this mistake or will beat this HAHAHAHAHAHA!

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

How did you happen to get raw wheat directly from a farm? That is a bit unusual for most people. Few folks these days have access to a farm like that. While it is a nice thing to be able to do that, it's definitely atypical.