Rehydrating us-05 - temperature and time

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OrdinaryAvgGuy

Reaction score
I've been using liquid yeast since I started brewing and have finally decided to give US-05 a try.

I'm reading conflicting information on the hydration process.

First, some suggest rehydrating with boiled sterilized water cooled to 105°F while others suggest a lower temperature such as 95°F or less. The manufacturers instructions suggest 74°F - 86°F. Are those who are suggesting a higher temperature simply accounting for temperature drop when adding the yeast? I'm not sure where they are coming up with these numbers when the instructions state 80°F ± 6°F.

Also, the instructions state that the rehydration process should take between 45 mins to 1 hour. Others online say only hydrate for 15 mins. :confused:

1 cup of 80-85* boiled water
Dump in, stir after 15 min
Stir and pitch at around 30 min

I do it for s-04 and s-05, have always had good, fairly quick starting fermentation

Check out this post and decide for yourself what temperature to use:
https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/fermentis-dry-yeast-users-433698/index6.html#post5550723

I have personally had better experience with the higher temps (105) mentioned in the linked post than the cooler (~80) temps suggested by manufacturers. Hope this helps.

It just seems odd that some Jamil and Chris suggest 105° when the manufacturer suggests a much lower temperature. One would think that the manufacturer would know what is optimal for their product.

It just seems odd that some Jamil and Chris suggest 105° when the manufacturer suggests a much lower temperature. One would think that the manufacturer would know what is optimal for their product.