New to the forums and Brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Durb4nPoison

Reaction score
Hey, I recently just acquired 2 home brewing kits that both came with "Columbus hops" and "cascade hops" This is my first time brewing and im trying to see if I can make a double ipa since I have 2 packets of hops and grains each. If so by how much should I add to the original recipe?

Originally it states that I should heat 2.5 quartz of water to 160F. Add grains after that and then cook for 60 minutes at 144 - 152 F.

After this is says to heat up an additional 4 quarts to 170 degrees and states to set up your "lauter tun" and pour the water over the mash to extract the grain sugars, try to collect about 5 quartz and then recirculate wort through grain once.

For the boil it says to heat wort until you've hit the "hot break" and boil for about 60 minutes . First it says to add the whole package of Columbus hops and then add 1/5 of cascade hops every 15 minutes.

Now im assuming that I should use the same amount of water in the original recipe if I wanna make a double, but should I also add exactly double of the grains, Hops, and yeast?

Thanks in advance everyone, I really wanna try to get the best beer I can out of my first brew .:D

Double/imperial doesn't necessarily mean exactly double. If I were you, and looking back on my first brew, I wouldn't try a super massive beer. I'd go for standard-plus-50% on your grains (maintain the same ratios) and push some of your hop additions toward the end of the boil to maintain balance between bitterness and aroma.