Mypin TD4 malfuncton?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GutoSchettini

Reaction score
Dear all,

I'm a beginner in electric brewing... I bought a RIMS tube (Brewhardware), than the PID (Mypin TD4-SNR+SSR) and the temperature probe (RTD PT-100, 3 wires).

After puzzling for a while (reading forums & watching youtube movies), I wired everything in the right way. However, playing with the PID and temperature, I noticed that when the PV is lower than SV, the OUT1 led (and the one in the SSR too) flashes instead of be continuously 'on'. Also, the autotunning takes a lot of time to finish (>20 minutes).

Definitively, it doesn't behave like the one showed in this film
[ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KFVcrtQ_pdQ[/ame]

My conclusion is that I got a defective unit and will return it. But I would like to hear from you who has experience with this controller. Has anyone had a similar problem?

Thank you!

Guto

How much lower? the pid doesnt work like a thermostat. It doesnt just stay on until the setpoint is reached and then turn off... When its autotuned correctly (with the pumps running at the same flow and the same amount of liquid that you'll roughly be using) It will act very strangely and likely overshoot its target as it learns and tries to basically recalculate new P, I and D values.. and then when your brewing with it as it get closer to the setpoint the output begins to flash and stay on less consistently because its trying to maintain and not overshoot the temps.. also if your constantly using a different flow rate your pid tuned values will be off.

If it didnt autotune correctly it can act strange too by either under shooting or more likely overshooting the setpoint and fluctualting up and down instead of maintaining the same temp..