My first batch of cider, started yesterday

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Archigram

Reaction score
This is my first post, but I've been reading these forums quite a bit... Thanks to all of you for your collective wealth of knowledge. The information I've found here has been invaluable. I feel like I completely know what I'm doing, even though I'm completely new at this...

My first batch:

uu6m4nos9

Sorry for the poor quality, this was taken with my cell phone, and the lens is all scratched up.

I started with five gallons of fresh, unpasteurized cider from a local orchard in CT. I didn't realize until I got it home, but it says on the jugs that this batch is 5-10% pears. I'm interested to see if that adds anything to the final flavor. Right now the cider is very sweet with a strong apple flavor up front, but after a second or two you can detect a little bit of the pear. It's only slightly tart on the tongue, and finishes with a slight hint of lemon. Now that is probably wayyyy too much analysis for cider, but I'm interested to see if any of those qualities carry over into the final product. From what I've gathered by reading these forums, as well as my own experience drinking cider, I'm not expecting that it will. But it's better to be thorough, I guess.

I mixed the must in a bucket with 1 vial of White Labs 'English Cider Yeast' and 5 tsp. of LD Carlson yeast nutrient. Stirred it up well, then poured it into a five gallon carboy and I'm now patiently waiting....