Is my regulator broke

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

iasquith

Reaction score
Hi ,
suddenly now my regulator doesent seem to work.
I'm a bit new to kegging so please bear with me .
when I open the gas bottle with the regulator turned off ( all the way clockwise) the low pressure dial climbs , to the limit.
it didnt' do that before , this is with the disconects off the tank.
I've tried oiling the screw a bit but the gas seems to pass straight through the regulator poen or closed . should I get a new one ,unfortunetely i've scratched it and band it around a bit so there's no chance of a refund.
what do you think. thanks.

Without having it in my grubby little hands to examine I would guess you've got a damaged diaphragm. You should be able to pick up a rebuild kit easily enough. What reg is it?

Hi ,
suddenly now my regulator doesent seem to work.
I'm a bit new to kegging so please bear with me .
when I open the gas bottle with the regulator turned off ( all the way clockwise) the low pressure dial climbs , to the limit. ...
With the regulator turned all the way clockwise - you are delivering maximum pressure. You need to turn it CCW (Counter Clock Wise) to decrease the delivered pressure.

HTH

He also said it would do the same if it was open or closed which I took to mean he went both ways and got the same result. Perhaps the OP can clarify what is actually happening.

yes , sorry I meant to say anti clockwise .
the make of regulater is' Oxileo' which I doubt anyone as ever heard of , I wont be buying that brand again. Also I tried looking up spares on the net but couldn't find anything, but yeah the diamphram blown would make sense .