I need your support - brewing one beer a day for a year!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

matthewmurray

Reaction score
I am a long time student of this site and have decided to become a supporting member to say thank you for all of the guidance I have received so far.

My name is Matthew Murray and I live just outside of Charlotte, NC in Matthews. I live with my wife and four kids and can't seem to brew enough. When I got to the point that I was brewing three to four days per week, I thought that I might as well make it every day of the week.

On July 5, 2014, I am going to launch the Year of Beer during which I will brew one beer a day for a year. I am excited to try out 365 recipes and hope to use many of them to experiment with different techniques, malts, hops, yeast strains, etc. So, I need your help. What beers do you want to see brewed? What experiments would you like to see played out in the fermenter?

Check out www.breweveryday.com and give me a like on Facebook.com/BrewEveryday if you want to stay up to date.

I'd say do at least one sour early on that you can save to drink when you complete the full year.

Other than that, you could start with SMaSHes to get a thorough knowledge of hop and base malt profiles. Then do a series of crystal malt comparisons based on one or two of your SMaSH successes. Start with a SMaSH plus crystal-20, then 40L, then 60L, and so on.

Maybe dedicate one or two days of the week to brewing those kinds of brews to systematically work through a bunch of ingredients.

Then dedicate a day of the week to doing weird stuff with fruit, spices, hot peppers, beef jerky, or whatever else seems crazy.

I admire your ambition and I hope you have a lot of fun with this adventure.