HELP! Too darn sweet

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I brewed an ale about 6 weeks ago and messed up the hop utilization calcs (I am still a noob!). Basically, ended with a sweet beer that is fully carbonated in bottles. I know that fermentation completed and I know the main fault is the hops utilization...I just messed that up so badly. I am close to 18 IBUs for a 7.5% abv beer....what are my options at this point? Should I just dump it? It tastes OK, but has a sweet finish rather than a balanced or bitter finish. I would hate to dump the entire batch...I have heard people talk about hop tea here, but not sure if it's applicable to my case and if it is, how would I go about using hop tea in a bottled beer...any advice to fix this batch would be greatly appreciated....definitely not messing this part up ever again.

This is funny because my last batch is WAY too bitter and I need to figure out a way to sweeten it up without re-activating the yeast.

Maybe we should blend our 2 batches ;)

Yep, since it's bottled, blending is probably your only option. Definitely don't dump it, just brew a hoppy beer and blend them as you drink. I would use the same grain bill with 3x the hops, what was the recipe and procedure?

my recipe was quite simple actually. i just wanted to get rid of the extra 6 lbs of munich malt extract i had, so i took that with 3 lbs of extra light dme and 0.5 lbs of rice syrup solids to thin the body. used simcoe and williamatte hops, but messed up the order in which i was to use them. recipe is very simple, but if i somehow manage to get some more bitterness to it, the beer will be good if not very good. used nottingham yeast which took it down to 1.010 from 1.076.