Not sure if this “Pellicile” is healthy

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewdon

Reaction score
sup guys, I am a novice to home brewing kombucha, and this is my first “pellicile” growth I’ve had.

I started my first starter liquid batch about a month ago using Brew Dr. raw/unpasteurized kombucha, using about the whole bottle in 4 cups of sweet black tea. I never really grew a whole pellicile in the 3 weeks I had it going, only stringy yeast it appeared to be. Smell was very on point to apple cider vinegar, which is what I hear it’s supposed to be like, so never thought anything was wrong.

I’ve used that starter liquid to start a batch of sweet black tea that as well did not have a whole pellicile grow in the 4 days I let it brew (liked my tea how it was on the sweeter side) and just had a very thin layer of clear growth with a ton of stringy yeast. After F2, it came out amazingly. I had instantly started my next batch while putting this one into F2.

7 days later after starting batch 2, here is what I am left with growing on top. Being a novice, I am not sure if what I have going on here is healthy, or obviously Kahm Yeast growing, would love any input. Thanks!

Ps. I also attached 2 photos of how the pellicile is now looking in my starter liquid jar. (The smaller jar) And IMO although not looking white, it’s looking a lot better than before and hopefully heading in the right direction. Please share your thoughts, much appreciated. Cheers!

Attachments

• 2D6865F1-F534-424E-A73E-6364AA062B00.jpeg
    2D6865F1-F534-424E-A73E-6364AA062B00.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 0
  • C344DB04-E771-498E-8DDF-4D21971AEADE.jpeg
    C344DB04-E771-498E-8DDF-4D21971AEADE.jpeg
    1.4 MB · Views: 0
  • 13858AB4-EA6C-41A3-BE11-49F522F5524D.jpeg