Help figuring out what went wrong. Milkshake ipa

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

samircanada

Reaction score
Hi everyone I am still a beginner brewer. Have about 10 brews so far.

I tried a mango passionfruit milkshake IPA. About 15 lbs of grain. Mostly 2 row and oats with a bit of honey malts. 0.5lbs of lactose in the boil. It was very cold out so after 60 min boil I ended up with a bit under 5 gals in fermenter. OG measured with refractometer was 1.068. Very active fermentation took place right away and seemed fine. After 2 weeks of dry hopping and primary I transferred 4 gals to secondary on top of the 3lbs of mashed fruits. I didn't take a gravity reading coming from primary unfortunately. After 1 week of secondary I was left with 3.5 gals to bottle.
I usually keg so I added priming sugar before taking reading which was a mistake (.75cup dme) the FG reading after was close to 1.040. I was shocked it was that high. Is it just the 0.5 lbs of lactose and priming sugar, possibly some sugars from the fruits in secondary?
The smell and taste from the primary was very alcoholic. I am worried about having made beer bombs.

Thanks for your help.

FG readings will change when adding DME or sugar to them, so check gravity it before.

0.5 lb lactose is a little amount and cannot be the cause of the 1.040 FG. You probably had an imcomplete fermentation due to high mash temp., yeast stress, etc. But just to be clear, do you use a hydrometer or refractometer to check final gravity readings?

Fruit will add some sugar to the beer, which will be fermented out by the yeast. It just take time. Fruit can also drop the pH of the beer due to their natural acidity.