Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

greaterdane480

Reaction score
Hi all,

This is my first time brewing a Milk Stout, therefore using Lactose. Is it wise to clarify this brew (Gelatin), or will I end up removing the Lactose?

I'm pretty sure gelatin would not remove lactose. But are you sure you need to use gelatin? I find a cold crash without finings, or even just time and gravity, to work well enough for good clarity in stouts. Keep in mind this is a beer you're not going to be able to read a newspaper through, regardless of how "clear" you make it.

I don’t think gelatin will remove lactose.

I’m of the opinion that a clear stout is far more appealing to the eyes than a murky one. As vikeman said you won’t be able to read a newspaper through it but a clear stout can easily be identified over a cloudy one.

How you get there is up to you. I’ve used gelatin in the passed and been pleased. My last stout, partially from laziness but partially from curiosity, I used a highly flocculant yeast and cold crashed before kegging. I’m very pleased with the results.

I don’t think gelatin will remove lactose.

I’m of the opinion that a clear stout is far more appealing to the eyes than a murky one. As vikeman said you won’t be able to read a newspaper through it but a clear stout can easily be identified over a cloudy one.

How you get there is up to you. I’ve used gelatin in the passed and been pleased. My last stout, partially from laziness but partially from curiosity, I used a highly flocculant yeast and cold crashed before kegging. I’m very pleased with the results.