Dry hop recommendations needed

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hercher

Reaction score
I recently made an amber style ale that I am kegging this weekend, and want to dry hop. I have available Sorachi Ace and Cascade.

The full recipe, to date:

Grain:

Maris Otter, 9 lbs
Crystal 60 1.25 lbs
Crystal 80 .25 lbs
Amber Malt 1 lb

Hops:

Pacific Jade 13.7 AA, 1 oz 75 minutes
Pacifica 5.7% AA, 1 oz 45 minutes
Pacifica 5.7% AA, 1 oz 30 minutes

OG 1.066.

Pitched San Diego Super Yeast (WLP090) in a 3 pint starter.

Note, I've never used the Pacifica or Pacific Jade before. I would use those for dry hopping, but my LHBS didn't have any, so I bought 2 oz of the Sorachi Ace and Cascade.

Which should I drop hop with, and why?

Both, because they are both delicious. By the way, no need for a starter with pitchable yeast. Save your time and money

Nanobru said:
By the way, no need for a starter with pitchable yeast. Save your time and money

Bad advice in my opinion. Although not all beers need them, they are not a waste of time and $. Underpitching can result in off-flavored beer.

Both, because they are both delicious. By the way, no need for a starter with pitchable yeast. Save your time and money

It had occurred to me to use both. Should I use an ounce of each? I've read that the Sorachi Ace can become a little overwhelming. Would maybe a hal ounce of that and an ounce of the Cascade be better?

I got the yeast via mail order, so I couldn't be sure how much viable yeast would be in there. Generally, I agree that a starter isn't necessary, but I think it is always better to use one than not. It's easy to underpitch, difficult to over pitch.