DAP vs Feramid K

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Briatta

Reaction score
I have a recipe for a Ginger Mead that calls for yeast nutrient, but isn't specific on the type. I'm a totally newbie to brewing so for a recipe that is basically just honey, ginger root, fresh squeezed orange juice and water what would be a better choice, Fermaid K or DAP ?

Both. 1/4 tsp DAP and 1/2 tsp Fermaid K per gallon. Add upfront, at 2/3, and 1/3 sugar break (if SG was 1.099, you would add upfront, 1.066, and 1.033).

Fermaid K has vitamins, trace minerals, and DAP. Alone, Fermaid K does not have enough DAP, so you have to supplement with pure DAP.

It also wouldn't hurt to add 1/4 tsp potassium carbonate per gallon to buffer the pH. Especially since you are adding acidic orange juice.

Better brewing through science!

-----snip-----
Alone, Fermaid K does not have enough DAP, so you have to supplement with pure DAP.
-----/snippage-----
Meh! Dunno about that Bray. FK provides 120ppm per gramme per litre. Whereas DAP provides 200ppm per gramme per litre.

Don't know for certain, but suspect that DAP was originally used to help boost nitrogen, but at a lower cost. Ken Schramms article about mead nutrition explains about typical levels required (a lot of threads seem to suggest under use). It also explains about where H2S can come from, hence why your suggestion of 2parts FK, 1 part DAP is spot on.

Just thought it worthy of mention.......

But +1 one your guidance/post........

Though I have never had mead I am interested in trying my hand at a batch of mead. Is there a mead that is available that you would re commend I purchase to try? Not looking for anything specific, just a true mead. Thanks

Whats the recipe, it sounds good?