Converting to extract...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

btrhomebrew

Reaction score
I am just on my first batch of home brew. My favorite beer is Big SKY IPA. I would love to clone it or get a similar taste. As I am very new to this I am hoping someone can give me pretty clear directions on where to go for this.... I would like to go to all grain brewing eventually, but not ready.... In same sense I would like to be somewhat creative and create my own "kit". I found the whole grain recipe, can someone convert it with simple directions for a to extract? There are two recipes I found, i am looking to brew a 5 gallon batch.

Thanks!

12 lb 2 row
1/2 lb cry 60
1 lb cry 80
3 oz simcoe 60
1/2 oz somcoe 15
1/2 oz crystal 15
1 oz crystal 5
1 oz simcoe 5
dry hop 1/2 oz simcoe
safeale us04
boil 70 min
ferment 65
he didn't say what temp he mashed at but i would assume 153 should hit it close
o g 1.062
fg 1.014

2nd

88% pale malt
12% 75* crystal malt
total IBU 64
IBU's from simcoe 60
crystal and simcoe for flavor and aroma
fullers ale yeast
70 minute boil
153* mash
srm 18
o.g. 1.060

For starters, begin with a good background book like Complete Joy of Homebrewing or How to Brew. The first edition of How to Brew is actually online if you want to check it out first, but know that there's been quite a few updates to the newer editions so I'd still suggest getting one of the books.