Coffee Grinder/Mill recomendation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

steveoatley

someone has to fail, so the rest of you look good
Reaction score
Hello HBT Coffee gurus !

I have recently gotten in to Cold Brewing coffee.

And i am looking to Up Grade some equipment already !! ( sound familiar ? )

I have a Toastmaster Bladed Coffee "mill" - Model 1119 i believe
Just like in the pic

And i was wondering what you Coffee Gurus would recommend for an up grade??

I am looking for a good "medium" grind - better for Cold Brewing
I am getting too many Whole Beans surviving this Toastmaster, and then i hit
that button again, and i have powder and still a few whole beans

So I am looking for a "reasonably" priced coffee mill.

Any suggestions ?

Thanks in advance !

Steve

EDIT - i shold mention that i own a Monster Mill 2 for my All Grain BEER brewing set up
Is there any way i could use that ??

toastmaster.jpg

Last edited:
I doubt another grinder will give you different results. I have a Mr. Coffee and it does the same thing. Try shaking it as you are grinding and take care not to overgrind.

My $20 Krupps spinner coffee mill is 15 years old, has sustained 2 DIY repairs, shows its age and although it has "wear spots," it still runs fine.

I grind my coffee very fine (cowboy coffee, Serbian/Greek/Turkish coffee), for about 45-60 seconds with some gentle shaking, to mix it up and prevent the grinds to settle in the lid area, leaving the spinner running mostly idle. It mills quite evenly at that, like dust, not much grit. I looked for a possible replacement a few weeks ago and all reports I saw rated that Krupps #1 of the spinner type. It has a 200W motor and an elliptical chamber that help the cause.

I also use it to grind spices.