Coffee Bean Grinder

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SundayBeers

Reaction score
I was thinking of picking up a coffee bean grinder so I can start making coffee in the mornings using fresh beans intead of pre-grounded.
Doing a quick search online, they seem to be coming in quite cheap for a manual grinder. About €20-€30.

Anything I should look for, or any tips on which tyoe of grinder to go for?

Thanks

I'm the only coffee drinker in my house, and I limit myself to one cup (most mornings). I've been using the Hairo Skerton grinder for 5+ years, and it's great! About 2 minutes of cranking gets you enough for a single cup of coffee. If you're going to be grinding more than a single cup's worth, you might want to look into an electric grinder. I've ground coffee beans in my Hairo for a group before, and it was a workout!

If you go electric get a burr grinder, not a blade type. A burr will give a more consistent grind. Many have some type of dial mechanism where you can adjust from coarse to fine. The one I have is reasonably priced. Since you mentioned prices in Euros in your post, I'm assuming you're in the EU, so I don't know what prices will be like there.

I love my OXO grinder. Go ahead and find one that will measure grams while you grind. ... waiting... yea, that's what I thought. Thank me later.

Amazon.com: OXO BREW Conical Burr Coffee Grinder with Integrated Scale: Kitchen & Dining

1619226034148.png