Canning Jar Trub/Yeast Harvester for Conical

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PlinyTheMiddleAged

Reaction score
My family bought me a 7 gal SS Brew Tech Chronical Conical for Christmas. As soon as I started playing with it (pretty much instantly), I thought that what I needed was a canning jar with a tri clover fitting on its lid. A couple of searches later and I had ordered some stainless steel lids for canning jars, some Stay-Clean flux, Stay-Brite #8 silver solder, and some fittings from brewer's hardware. Thanks to the thread on stainless steel soldering, this is what I came up with. I haven't used it yet, but I did a pressurized leak check and found no problems at all. Now, in theory, all I have to do is install a jar, let it fill with trub, and then swap in a new jar to catch yeast to reuse in my next batch. Seems simple.

I will say that the stainless steel soldering was a lot easier than I expected. Once I was all set to go, it only took moments with a propane torch.

Tri-Clover Canning Lid.JPG

Capped Lid on Jar.JPG

Interested. Would like to hear some more about your process. How do you make the transition from horizontal to vertical while full of yeast?

This looks really good! I do essentially the same thing with an inline site glass and it works great... Except for 2 problems; 1st, I only have the one site glass so once it's full, I have to disconnect and transfer yeast to another storage jar so I can put the site glass back on for a second round of harvesting. The 2nd thing that that bothers me is that when I put the emptied site glass back on for round two and open the dump, I'm bubbling air up into mostly fermented wort.