BIAB Heater - 30gal+

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MaximumTrainer

Reaction score
Hi there,

I want to start brewing and I'm looking to purchase all my starter equipment! BIAB looks perfect for me as I'm a beginner and like the minimalist approach.

I would like to purchase a big kettle, around 15-30gal. I know it's big to start but I want to be able to keep it for a long time.
I checked with my local brew expert here and she said my electric oven would be too small for a 30gal blichmann, not surprisingly.

So I'm looking for an alternative heater, something I can put where I want.
I am bit worried about the propane heater as I want to do my brewing inside, and the winter is really cold here. Also we don't really have gaz available here, so the best option would be something electric. I checked for induction heater but some people said they don't work with blinchman. Any idea what I could use the heat that 30gal?

Any advice appreciated! Thanks

After some research I found a good alternative
The Blinchmann BoilCoil 240V.

Since I am in Canada and we have 240V installed for oven, it should work without too much work needed. I just have to figure how to find/build a control Box

When considering kettle size, realize that the minimum boil size is about 1/3rd of the total size. I can do 5 gal batches in my 15 but if it were 20 gal I would have to step up to 10 gallon boils if I want the heating element submerged. With a 30, you will be forced to make 10 gallons of everything. I don't think everyone outgrows 5 gallon batches unless you give away a ton of beer.

Thanks for the feedback Bobby,

I haven't yet decided between a 15, 20 or 30gal. But 30gal is probably too much for a beginner looking to start with 5gal batches.