Yeast response to sound/tones/music

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GuitarGumption

Reaction score
Yes, I know, from now on just from that title you will all dismiss anything I say! :D

But has there ever been any sort of study done on this that anyone knows of? (in modern times anyway...).

I was just reading some history about ancient cultures singing and talking to their wort to get the yeast to be happy and take off....which I could understand if I was hoping for the best random yeast in the air to come ferment my beer before the bad stuff took over!

Anyhow, on a related note, my oatmeal stout had seemed dormant for about a week+, when I started playing my guitar in the same room. I have a fairly loud tube amplifier, that produces all kinds of nice harmonics when overdriven, and I was playing loud. I swear the beer starting bubbling away again not too long after.

I know, I know, probably total coincidence or some other reason, but just thought I'd bring the subject up, it could be fun. :mug:

Thanks for the link!

Sounds like not much was decided there, but some folks do think bassy music might wake yeast up a bit.

I'd argue that possibly live music would have a greater effect than playing a radio for example. Just like a dog often won't respond to barking dogs on tv, but somehow responds to the real dog blocks away that you can't even hear...

Well, I have my fermentation area in my cellar which is the room right beside my studio. I play bass trombone and, it seems, I brew decent beer. I've never had a stuck fermentation and almost everything I brew ends up below 1.010.

Feel free to draw your own conclusions. LOL

So do I, but I also like music, and even order harmonics. :)