Struggling With Efficiency Lately... 8 Year Brewer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

benbradford

Reaction score
So I have been brewing with all grean for about 8 years. I have had problems with effecieny before like I assume most have. I got most of my techniques under control years ago, but lately have struggled with unexpected low efficiency.

Take a look at this and see if you can pin point what is going on.

I brew in keggles and use one for mash tun and one for brew kettle.

I did a 10 gallon batch and batch sparged yesterday.

Started with 5.5 gallons of 167 degree water to hit 144 for 45 minutes over 31 lbs of grain.

Second addition was 3 gallons at 178 to hit 154 for 15.

Third addition was 2.5 at 205 to hit 64 for 15.

Finally addition was 2.5 at 188 to hit 168 for 10 minutes.

I batch sparged the remaining 2.2 gallons at 168.

I know the mash schedule is a little strange but I was following the brewing info given by boulevard's head brewer on Tank 7. This is the 4th generation I have made and the beer is fantastic.

I came in at a perfect volume of pre boil at 11.4 gallons but my gravity was low by 11 points at 1.052 instead of 1.063

The grain was crushed by brewmasterswarehouse and I beleive they generally reach the mid 70's with their crush.

I have modified these techniques in many ways including crushing my own grain and extended fly sparging and have continued to achieve results of low 60's efficiency. Fortunately I usually aim for 62 lately and keep some dme on hand to correct.

Any ideas on what I am missing?

What temperature are you measuring your preboil gravity at? And are you using a hydrometer or refractometer? Is your post boil gravity coming in just as off?