Strawberry Hefeweizen PM (1st PM)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jayslay

Reaction score
Hello all,

Long time lurker, kit brewer, rookie etc..

I love Hefes, and have tried a few modified kits to make them but decided I need to create my own! I bought 50 lbs of various grains and hops to get me started in the world of PM. I have a few varieties of malts and extracts, but I didn't get enough wheat extract to do a straight extract kit, so I will be advancing to partial mash tonight, most likely a BIAB sort. As my ingredients were ordered as a rookie, I dont have ideal qty, so please be kind but critical.

My Strawberry Hefe:

3lbs Bavarian Wheat LME (at flameout)
2lbs Bavarian Wheat DME
1lb Golden extra light DME
3 lbs White Wheat Malt (mash)
1/4lb rice hulls
1lb 2-row (mash)
3 oz Honey Malt (Gambrinus) (mash)

1 oz Hallertau (60 minutes)
5 lbs Strawberrie: washed, rinsed with santizer, cut out spots, leaf and stem tip, FROZEN

So Im a rookie, but here it goes: Clean my pot and tools and heat strike water to around 165F, about 1.5Qt/lb grain. I will insert the bag and then drop my grains/rice hulls and stir, trying to stabilize the temp around 150-154 F. (I've never done decoctions but I am capable pending the advice I get here.. so that is an option)
After reaching my mash temp I will try and conserve heat and stay at that temp for 60 minutes, adding boiling or chilled water to stay at the temp.