Starters: Two Questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

freisste

Reaction score
Ok, I've made quite a few batches of beer (2-3 dozen), so my feet are pretty wet but I'm still a noob. I usually make a starter, but I got to thinking while making my latest (for a green flash IPA clone).

1. When I use yeastcalculator.com to determine starter size for the appropriate pitching rate, it gives me the volume(s) I need. In my latest case, it happened to be 1.6L. I have always made the starter and added everything from the smack pack. The liquid in the smack pack adds a little volume. Maybe close to 100ml. I'm not supposed to factor that volume in, am I?

2. I am starting to harvest yeast by making larger than necessary starters. As an example, if I need 150BB cells, I'll use a calculator to determine the starter required to make 250BB cells. Then I'll split it 60/40 and save 100BB cells. As a result, I know my quantity and "production" date, so can I use these values in the viability calculator on yeastcalculator.com? It seems considerably more accurate than determining the slurry volume.

Thanks in advance.