Stable 1 Gal Step Mash Setup

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HardyFool

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hey Everyone!

So, I'm an all-grain brewer, and I've been brewing one gallon batches, 20+ by now, for about two years. While it may seem insane to stick to one gallon for so long, I'm at any point either living in a tiny apartment, or with my parents who have more or less placed a moratorium on batches above one gallon, so I'm locked into that size for the foreseeable future.

As a bit of background, I love above all Lagers (Kolsch and Pilsner specifically), and sours (notably Berliner Weisse), and in the last two years, I've read How to Brew, Brewing Better Beers, the Yeast and Hop books, as well as more beer posts and forum entries than I care to admit to most people. This is all to say that I'm obsessive, and would like to be able to make beers requiring step mashing and/or wort souring, let alone precise fermentations.

So, my issue: the ~1.5 gal that comprise my mash and sparge water is a small enough volume that temp stability is a serious issue - with thorough insulation on a small cooler, I lose about 2 degrees F every 15 minutes or so. And even were I to reduce that to 2 degrees over the normal 60-90 minute mash, this setup doesn't allow for step mashing, outside decoction.

So here's what I have, what solutions I've seen, and what solutions I envision.