Neurotic New Brewer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jshine42

Reaction score
I was wondering on a few things. I started brewing last week and for the first 3-4 days my airlock was going nuts.. but now nothing is happening on the airlock. I did go out of town so the temperature might have crawled up to 70 to 71 degrees where I was fermenting.

So my question is did I ruin my beer?

I keep reading that it's still supposed to bubble but I haven't heard or seen anything out of it for a bit now.

Airlock activity is no indicator of fermentation...so don't worry. It is also possible that a majority of fermentation is complete. Just wait a few more weeks and let the yeast clean up. Then take a gravity reading every few days to ensure it's done.

I was wondering on a few things. I started brewing last week and for the first 3-4 days my airlock was going nuts.. but now nothing is happening on the airlock. I did go out of town so the temperature might have crawled up to 70 to 71 degrees where I was fermenting.

So my question is did I ruin my beer?

I keep reading that it's still supposed to bubble but I haven't heard or seen anything out of it for a bit now.

That is what you expect. The bulk fermentation took place and you saw a lot of co2 blowing out of the airlock. Just leave the bucket alone and in a few weeks take a sample. If it is down to your final gravity, get ready to bottle.