Making wort from grain for starter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zenmeister

Reaction score
OK, I feel real stupid asking this question, but...
For years I have been making my yeast starters from DME, and it has been successsful. But as the price of DME continues to rise, I've been looking at making the starter from grain. Problem is, I've never done that before. As I only need a gallon or two, it really won't work on my 20 gallon Spike trio system. Is this something you would do as a small BIAB type job, steeping the grain at about 150 degrees for about an hour or so?
For any of you brewers who use grain, can you share your process? Also, I'm thinking about 1.5 pounds of grain for a gallon of water to give me a 1.035 (ish) wort. Is that about right?

Thoughts???

What many people do is when they make an AG beer they just make a little extra and pour it off into another container after the boil. If you need to water it down to get to starter strength, you can do that after you pour it off.

Use a paint strainer bag and a 3ish gal pot on your stove for a mini BIAB. I just started doing 1 gallon experimental batches this way for winter cause it's to cold to brew outside. Set your stove to its lowest setting, mine is 175, I turn it off and put my pot in the stove with the lid on. Doesn't loose a single degree in an hour.