Long IPA fermentation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ajbosley2015

Reaction score
Hi all. I am fairly new to brewing. I have made a little over 10 5 gallon batches, both extract and BIAB. I am currently brewing my first IPA, which is the Grapefruit Pulpin extract kit (either from Midwest or Northern). I have a question about active fermentation.

I closely monitor temperatures throughout the entire process, and have a heating/cooling setup to automatically heat/cool the fermenter (using the Catalyst conical on this one) up/down to the appropriate temperature when the temp sensor reads above/below the level so temperature is not an issue.

I brewed on Saturday 31Mar, pitched two packets of Wyeast (yes I know, I need to start making starters). Active fermentation started within 3 hours with a nice hefty Krausen present after 4.5 hours. 12 days later and the Krausen has nearly completely fell but I still have a half inch or so left and it is still fermenting.

O.G. 1.064
Current S.G. 1.018
Target F.G. 1.012 (using BeerSmith)

I dry hopped at the current S.G. to impart some aromatics into the brew, and the gravity is decreasing daily, but only slightly.

My biggest issue here is that I have brewed Stouts, Porters, Blonde Ales, a dunkel, and an irish red, but none have actively fermented for this long.

Do I have concerns? Should I? Or should I just stay patient?

Which Wyeast yeast and how old were the pouches? Can we get the mash. temp, fermentation temp., etc.?