D47 Cider late developing sulphur

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hahayepyep

Reaction score
I went to check a bulk-aging cider (6 months from pitch) to find a strong rotten egg sulphur smell had developed. I've not encountered this occurring so late before. There are no other signs that scream contamination, so I'm not so sure it's spoilage from an organism. I've had this smell during primary before, but it always subsides. This is my first attempt using D47 for a cider, but I haven't heard of this being a trait of it.

I have a little experience making ciders and have never encountered this particular problem before. In fact, time usually seems to help with sulphur problems in the past. I'm hoping someone here can help me sort this out. I'd really like to know where I went wrong here and, ideally, save this batch.

PROCESS:
I started the ~5 gallon batch October 23, 2017. Recipe is as follows:

In 6.5 PET BMB:
  • 5.5 gallons fresh, unfiltered, pasteurized orchard cider.
  • 2.5 tsp pectinase (thought I had more on hand, used what I had)
  • (pectinase allowed 12 hrs to work)
  • 1 tsp FT Blanc Soft (tannins)
  • 1.25 tsp Booster Blanc (nutrient)
  • 1 pkg D-47 (rehydrated with Go-Ferm)
  • 0.5 tsp Fermaid O (added at 72 hrs)
Fermenter was kept at 62F (with a +/- 2F appx swing each way).
  • Day 2 strong signs of fermentation.
  • Day 7 ferment had slowed substantially.
  • Day 14 much of the yeast had fallen.
  • Day 30 racked to 5 gallon carboy.
The taste sample from day 30 was good considering age. The only faults I found were consistent with green dry cider / white wine.