Best way to bring 6 month-old Wyeast up to proper cell count?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Juno_Malone

Reaction score
So, I've never done step starters before, and I'm unclear if it's necessary in this situation. My LHBS gives Wyeast packs away for free once they are 3-4 months past their "born-on" date. I picked up a pack of Wyeast Pacman that is ~6 months old, and I'm hoping to use it on a 5-gallon batch of ~1.070 OG in the near future. Based on the mrmalty yeast calc, a 1 gallon starter is not going to come close to getting the cell count to where it needs to be. Is there some calculator out there for planning out step starters, when my viability is super low, maybe 10% or less? Thanks!

I've always had luck doing a step starter with old yeast. 0.5-.075l of 1.030 on a stirplate for a day or two (whenever it visually stops fermenting). Then throw it in the fridge, decant, and then make an appropriate sized starter from that.

I think those calculators are very conservative on how long yeast can survive. I've personally used packs/vials that are 8-9 months old using this method with great results.

Here is a calculator with steps:

http://www.brewersfriend.com/yeast-pitch-rate-and-starter-calculator/

I've always had luck doing a step starter with old yeast. 0.5-.075l of 1.030 on a stirplate for a day or two (whenever it visually stops fermenting). Then throw it in the fridge, decant, and then make an appropriate sized starter from that.

I think those calculators are very conservative on how long yeast can survive. I've personally used packs/vials that are 8-9 months old using this method with great results.