Yeasts to have on-hand

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nickbrew

Reaction score
My LHBS does WYeast Orders every few months so access to specific strains is limited on a regular basis. They are about to do an order and are taking requests. My question is: what are some versatile strains that are good to have on hand?

Note: because I have not had regular access to liquid yeasts I have been using Danstar dry yeasts for the last two years, which, from my experience have been quite versatile in comparison to the specific flavor profiles that I can access with the range of liquid yeasts.

I am intending to be harvesting and reusing these yeasts to save a bit of money and stretching their use between the LHBS orders.

Feel free to expand this to include White Labs and Danstar yeast strains that you like to have on hand

Wyeast that I almost always have on hand:

Wyeast 1450 (Denny's favorite- use in all beers that I want to accentuate malt character but not sweetness)
Wyeast 1335 (English, but also in US style pale ales and IPAs)
Wyeast 1272 (IPAs and pale ales) It makes clearer beers than 1056

White labs:
WLP001 (probably the strain I use most)
WLP002 (for all things English)

If I'm going to make a lager, or a Belgian, or a kolsch, etc, I just buy yeast when I need it. The majority of my beers are IPAs, APAs, American reds, etc so I don't do many beers that need specialty yeast.