yeast for dandelion wine

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sashurlow

Reaction score
I suddenly realized I have no yeast for my dandelion wine I'm preparing for. What yeasts are good for dandelion wine. Multiple suggestions would be nice as my co-worker who lives in the town of the LBS will probably be buying it for me (just in case the "best" yeast is not in stock).
scott

Yeah, always a safe bet, you really can't go wrong with montrachet if you're making any kind of wine.
They will almost definitely have this in stock too :)

I'm not really an expert, but I would go with the champagne yeast or like a EC-1118 or something like that. My reason is the time I made it before, I had a difficult time getting it to ferment all the way out like I was wanting it to. I ended up having to add some EC 1118 anyway.
Got my flowers in the freezer and will start this year's batch as soon as I can find the time!!!
It's definitely worth it!!!!

Most of the wine yeast strains are great for dandelion wine! I've used Lalvin's norbonne (forget the number), EC-1118 (champagne yeast) and Red Stars Cotes de Blanc, champagne, premier cuvee (which is a champange yeast), montrachet, etc. I think that might be all but I may have used a few more.

The dandelion wine is fruity and white, so really any wine yeast strain will work pretty well.

I suddenly realized I have no yeast for my dandelion wine I'm preparing for. What yeasts are good for dandelion wine. Multiple suggestions would be nice as my co-worker who lives in the town of the LBS will probably be buying it for me (just in case the "best" yeast is not in stock).
scott