WYEAST Smack Pack In a Starter Questions..?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

h4mmy86

Reaction score
Okay, so I smacked my pack a little while ago, how long do I need to let the pack swell before I pitch it into a yeast starter?

also, this is my first attempt at a yeast starter, so any advice on that is appreciated.
Here is what I have to work with: DME, WYEAST Smack Pack, a half gallon jar with no lid that I plan to top the jar with foil.

Any input at all is greatly appreciated, and I thank you in advance!

With Wyeast just pop the pack on the inside and give it a gentle
shake every now and then. Make sure it is room temp or else it wont swell as quickly. there is no need for a jar. let it swell for and hour or so and pitch.

Its a new pack, its fine and doing exactly as it should.

I just know some people prefer to let a wyeast pack swell for a few days before they pitch it, I was wondering if the reasoning for that would change if you're pitching it into a yeast starter.

The jar is what I'm putting my yeast starter in, rather than an erlenmeyer flask.

I have done a couple of starters. For both, I smacke and let it sit for 3 or 4 hours then pitched. Check out stirstarters.com. I got a stir plate from them for $45. Great deal and it makes a big difference on your starter quality and effort.

I get the yeast to room temp and then pitch into the starter. I fish out the 'pack' rinse it off, sanitize it, cut it open and pitch it in the starter as well.

Been using this process for a long time with great results. I think I first heard about it from Jamil on the BN.