Worst brew session ever! RIP altoberfest.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pivovar_Koucky

Reaction score
So this is mostly just for me to blow off steam. I just had to dump a batch for the first time. I am very sad about this.

On Saturday I had a long day. I am a grad student and I have lab group meetings on Saturday mornings from 10-12. I had to present this Saturday, and naturally I waited until the last minute to finish my presentation. So I got up at 8 to finish my presentation and just barely finished it on time. Presentation went well, but the I discover that my adviser wants to have 1-on-1 meetings starting at 2. This is unfortunate because I had planned to start brewing around 1.

So I come back in around 2:15 figuring, correctly, that others will be in line in front of me in an attempt to salvage part of their Saturday afternoon. Unfortunately, the way it works out I didn't get out of my meeting until 4:00. I think I should have put the ex-nay on the brew session right here, knowing that it couldn't possibly work out right.

Anyway, I pressed right on because I had already planned this brew day and had some friends coming over to assist. First problem, the grains I had received weren't cracked, so I spent about an hour cracking them in the blender (yes, you can do this its just a major pain in the you know where).