WNC Brewer / Highland Cold Mountain Clone

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kradford12

Reaction score
Hello to all,
I've been brewing now for about 2 years although this is my first post on hbt. Grown up in Asheville but recently moved down the mountain to Greenville. Looking to meet other homebrews, learn a little and drink some great beer.

I wanted to share a recipe for a WNC seasonal beer that has taken Asheville by storm for the last few years. Highland Cold Mountain Winter Ale. This is my wife's favorite beer and in all my searches online I have yet to find any sort of recipe. For those of you unfamiliar,Cold Mountain is a brown winter ale with a few spices. My understanding is the the base recipe remains the same each year but the spice blend changes. A buddy passed this along to me about a week ago. I just brewed it on Sunday and have it in primary now.

Highland Cold Mountain Clone

10lb Pale 2 row
4.8oz Special B
4.8oz Munich 20L
4.8oz Crystal 20L
1.6 oz Chocolate Malt

1 oz Perle (50 min boil)
1 oz Tettnang (end of boil)
2 Cinnamon sticks (crush last 10 mins of boil)
Hazelnut Flavoring (add at bottling)
White Labs California yeast

I don't not have a ton of experience with AG recipes so for those of you with more experience in this, any comments or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Kory

I'm not a fan of Cold Mountain ale myself, but I have several friends who horde that stuff when it is released.
Might try this recipe for some Christmas presents to them.
Thanks

I'm actually sitting at Highland right enjoying a glass of the cold Mtn. It's pretty tasty, reminds me of rogue hazelnut