Why do my IPAs take so long to condition

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dcioni

Home Brewer
Reaction score
Relatively new Brewer, not a total beginner. Past few beers I’ve brewed are the New England style IPA/Pale Ales (light simple malt bill w Flaked oats, late addition aroma/citrus hops and heavy dry hop early in primary, low flocc yeast, etc.)

Don’t have a keg setup and I’m very curious about this... I usually do 2 weeks in primary then 3+ weeks in bottles to condition. Usually at 5 weeks post brew they are pretty good, but don’t really start to shine until even later (6-7 weeks), then they QUICKLY drop off due to whatever oxidation was introduced during bottling. If I drink them after 2-3 weeks of bottle conditioning they’re pretty good but taste just a hair thin, a hair sugary sweet, it’s hard to verbalize just.... not yet fully ready and in their prime. I’m trying to get close to a Tree House, Trillium, Hill Farmstead, Other Half, etc style.. SUPER hop punch full bodied beer.

Obviously this is not ideal. I also read many threads about folks brewing NEIPAs w 7 days in primary, force carbing for 1-2 weeks and claiming how good their beer is tasting.. mine wouldn’t even be close to ready.

Would all my problems be solved moving to a keg setup? Does force carbing help bring the hops flavor out much quicker? I can’t imagine most breweries needing to brew and carb for up to 6 weeks to be ready to can and sell beer in its prime... I just feel like I’m missing something here

I brew a lot of IPAs and still bottle... I usually try to drink them within 3 weeks, because I find that the hop aroma/flavour tends to drop off quickly after that.