Which quick disconnects do you use?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigskygreg

Reaction score
I'm getting a march pump for my setup and need to get corresponding quick disconnects. I have no experience with these, but have been researching online.

What do you use? And what would you recommend for versatility and ease of use?

Also, anyone have a good resource (video or thread) on using brew pumps in general?

Thanks!

i use the blichmann ones, there not bad but if i were to start over i think id get the ones that look like air compressor fittings...forget what there called..lol

brewmcq said:
I'm using the Kent Plastic Disconnects for now. They work and I haven't noticed any off-flavors from them, but they are plastic.. if you cross thread one onto something metal (like a stainless valve, for example) it's ruined. On the plus side, they are wicked inexpensive. To be honest, I'm still debating between the stainless QDs and camlocks. Brew pumps.

Those are the two that I have trying to compare. I wish I could try them out first. I may have to just take the plunge and pick one. I also checked out blichman, but found less places carry them?

Thanks for the feedback!

I debated and debated when I bought a pump. Ultimately I went with the stainless camlocks. I'm glad I did. They are sturdy and quick to connect/disconnect.

Money well spent.

I ordered up the add a pump kit from Bobby M. Can't wait to get it.

Now I have to decide how I am going to mount it? I will be using it in my kitchen. Will not be attached to a sculpture, so I'm thinking a basic plywood enclosure open on one side would be sufficient. I may mount it up with a 2 foot stand to be about 2 feet above the floor as my MT and BK will be on the counter (3ft hight).

Sound good?