Whats your keg set up?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hefe811

Reaction score
So I'm new to this, and science was never my strength. It took 27 years and a love to beer to get excited about the process...

I took my second brew and threw it in a sanitized corny keg. I bought and replaced the O-Rings to ensure I didn't have escaping pressure issues... so I thought. I read up on kegging and it sounded like a few days passing at 30PSI, purge, set the regulator to about 5 PSI and I'd be off and running.

Wrong. The pressure bled down the tank. I did water tests... no leaks. The beer is constantly flat and pours with tons of foam. Call friends, read. They say drop the temp, make sure you're pouring at 40 degrees.

The next evening I pour, 50% foam. Frozen foam. From the fridge...

My boring story leads to this. I've been asked if I balanced my kegging system... to which my response was the deer in the headlight look. Balanced kegging? So here we go.

How long should the gas line be? the pour line? How do you manage multiple kegs? (I assume shut off those kegs at pouring PSI and pressurize with the others, let it balance and re-open).

I've found a lot of links and they all each have different recommendations. In the end everyone says RDWHAHB... but my wheat beer is flat and unshareable. I've messed with this batch for almost 2 weeks now, burned over half of a 20# co2 tank (I believe) and now I'm fearful to keg my next batch.

Any and all input is appreciated. I'm not seeing anything that talks about the actual set up of the keg system (Math for tube lengths etc), rather than the total completion. If I'm offbase, please post where I can find a previous forum. I can't be the first one...