What's your favorite thermometer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wsmith1625

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I started brewing using the 12" dial thermometer that came with my kit. Honestly, it's pretty good but I wanted something smaller and quicker for taking readings when mashing and cooling. I looked at Thermoworks but they're pretty expensive. I ended up buying a cheap one from Amazon which had good reviews. Turned out to be a piece of junk. I returned it and after extensive research bought a Lavatools PT09. I wanted the Javelin Pro but it wasn't in the budget. Anyway, the PT09 if awesome. It reads quick and it's very accurate.

Last brew session I was using my 12" dial thermometer to get strike and mash temperatures. I thought I was spot on, but then I stuck my PT09 in the mash and found I was 4 degrees too low. Damn dial thermometer lost calibration.

Because of this, I just purchased a Thermoworks 12" digital probe thermometer. It should be coming in the mail soon. I would have bought something from Lavatools, but they don't have anything that I can attach to the boil kettle.

Anyway, just putting it out there how much I love my cheap Lavatools PT09 thermometer. Curious what everyone else's favorite thermometer is. Share your story if you got one.

Last edited:
an intermediate term project for me is an Arduino with temp sensors and displays, so that I can include calibration cables.

I've never found a reasonably prided thermometer that has satisfied me. The last $8 brewing one I use cracked its tip while floating in water and bouncing off the bottom once. :rolleyes:

and then there were those ones years ago with a ridge that would pop over a 20 degree temperature change . . .